Brexit Call 11: Deal or No Deal?

21 November 2018
In what could be seen as an effort to rouse the UK Government to hold its nerve, Theresa May, the UK Prime Minister has claimed that 95% of the Withdrawal Agreement and its protocols are now settled. Michel Barnier, the EU chief negotiator has echoed this by offering a slightly more cautious statement that a deal is 90% done.

As negotiations enter into their frantic final phase, uncertainty remains. Theresa May continues to walk a tightrope faced with a potential vote of no confidence from within her party. Senior politicians are thought to be considering when to mount a leadership challenge and around 700,000 people have recently demonstrated in London in favour of the “People’s Vote”.

Critically, talks over the Irish border issue remain in deadlock. Both Dominic Raab and Michel Barnier have warned of the dangers of a no deal scenario. The latter has stated, "I'm convinced a deal is necessary, I'm still not sure we'll get one." At the same time there are reports of plans in the UK and the EU to introduce special measures to prepare for the no deal scenario.

With the current situation on a knife-edge we invite you to join the eleventh in our series of Brexit Q&A Conference Calls on Wednesday 21 November 2018 at 5:00 pm GMT (9:00 am PST, 12:00 pm EST, 6:00pm CET). The call will include a K&L Gates panel able to cover questions on almost any Brexit related issue from impact on trade, financial services, immigration issues and contracts, to an analysis of the developing political situation from UK and EU perspectives.
Please enable JavaScript, then refresh this page. JavaScript is required on this site.